Midflight is a new piece of music from Mark Rolfe, an ambient piece with influences from Brian Eno, The KLF and The Aphex Twin. Midflight was written, recorded, mixed during a flight from Manchester to Tel-Aviv on April 2nd 2014 (somewhat unprompted when the James Bond films I ripped to my macbook didn’t work). Using Logic Pro’s soft synths and samples (in particular Arturia’s excellent Minimoog plug-in) and sounds recorded from the cabin, the entire 12.30 minutes of Midflight was completed in just over 4 hours.

It is free to download but any donations will go straight to the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra, the incredible project ran by Daniel Borenboim. Borenboin has a vision of arts overcoming conflict. I am a huge supporter of this Orchestra

You can stream and download Midflight here http://markrolfe.bandcamp.com/

You can read, learn and be inspired by Daniel Borenboim’s work here: www.west-eastern-divan.org



So here’s 2014.  What are we up to?  Mark is busy producing albums for The Amber Herd and The Wild Man of Europe which are both scheduled for completion in the first quarter.  Mark is also scheduled to record a solo album for Alex Hale from August Actually.  After that work on Lorna 5 will resume which is about at the half-way point, we would like to think something could happen in 2014, who knows? So far it’s sounding poppy, orchestrated, a little quicker paced and very lush.

We have a few special shows to announce which will see us play more of our quieter songs along with a chamber orchestra.   The first show of the year is at The Bonington Theatre in Nottingham, a stunning all seater venue.  There is a chesterfield show on the horizon too also at a beautiful little theatre,  maybe a festival appearance of too?  Let’s see what happens.

finished bonington poster.pdf-page-001

Cover and track-listing revealed

SAW cover

The Stars of Winnetka:  A Collection of the holiday ep’s and new studio recordings.

1. the first person to arrive 2. hannukah 3. kuskova 4. little donkey 5. shalom chaverim 6. building beautiful buildings (the excited reindeer mix) 7. snowsong (2010 version 8. snowlights 9. lo, how er’ rose er’ blooming


December 5th 2013

The Stars of Winnetka

The Stars of Winnetka, a full length album is released by words on music on December 5th 2013.  The album consists of a collection of Lorna’s 3 previous holiday ep’s and brand new studio recordings.  The album is available digitally from iTunes and as a limited edition CD signed cd pressing.

The Stars of Winnetka will be launched with a live acoustic show and interview on the Night Owl show on www.trentsound.com on the evening of December 5th

The Passing of Sorrow

Here’s the soundtrack I wrote for a short indie movie. The Passing of Sorrow is a short film by British film-maker Pete Milddleton. I am very proud to be a part of this,  the editing and production to the film is sublime.   Soundtrack wise I really wanted to go for a Angelo Badalamenti type feel and ended up adding a little bit of a Dennis Wilson vibe too!    You can see the movie here.  http://youtu.be/sqeG3XPDNSc



We played a very informal laid back show in The Park Estate, Nottingham today.  It was fun to play something more laid back and a good excuse to air some of our back catalogue.  We have shows planned for Los Angeles, Nottingham and Derby in the next few months and are well underway with work on our 5th as yet untitled album here in Nottingham.

A memorable week

We had a terrific time in our hometown officially launching both the Heart of Wire album and the As She Goes By single in the UK.  It was great to see such a crowd for our Heart of Wire intensive set which also spanned 10 years of lorna music.   August Actually and The Amber Herd were both sublime and were excellent guests of ours.

album launch

The week also saw As She Goes By receive airplay on Amazing Radio, Trent Sound, Irvine FM, WMBR 88.1fm, Nusic and BBC Radio Nottingham.  Matt joined Alan Clifford for an interview online and Mark, Sharon and Rein joined Dean Jackson on Saturday night for BBC East Midlands Introducing.   The single is available now on iTunes.

the beat

We are currently booking shows for the Autumn,  the first confirmed show is on September 28th at The Hairy Dog in Derby with the super Dutch Barn who have just released their ‘Lighter Later’ album.   We are also hoping to schedule in a stripped down show in Los Angeles in August with our label mates Coastal!    We are also commencing work on a fifth album.

Finally, we have launched two new shirts for 2013.  Both are available in our store


‘As She Goes By’ Single, April 29th

Lorna will be releasing a single edit of As She Goes By on iTunes on April 29th to co-incide with the release of Heart of Wire. Also included on the single is new mix of the song Kuskova.   To help us get this single play-listed in as many stations as possible, please get in touch with local independent radio show/dj’s and tell them about it.  The single can be streamed from www.soundcloud.com/lornauk/as-she-goes-by-radio-edit