L-R: Mark Rolfe: Guitar, Voice. Rein Ove Sikveland: Viola. Andrew McNamara Drums. Matt Harrison: Flute, Guitar.  Andrew Bullock: Bass, Guitar.  Sharon Cohen-Rolfe: Keys, Voice

Lorna, who operate out of Nottingham UK formed in the late 1990′s and release music on the US-based label Words On Music.   They have been compared to the likes of Teenage Fanclub, Stereolab, Yo La Tengo and The Velvet Underground.  Lorna have released 4 full length albums, several ep’s and singles and have also appeared on many compilations.  Their fourth album, (third for Words On Music)  ‘Heart of Wire’ was released in March 2013 to much critical acclaim ‘….A delicate and restrained affair, aurally mature and lyrically poignant and intelligent…’ alongside the sun-soaked single, ‘As She Goes By’

Lorna are currently working on their 5th album.

Lorna have performed with The Psychedelic Furs, Neil Halstead (Mojave 3), Evan DandoMark Gardner (Ride), Six. By Seven, American Analog SetMidlake, and Pernice Brothers. The band toured Spain in 2004 and toured the US West Coast in August 2005.

Extended Biography at Words On Music


2000: The Never Grow Old EP, Intromit

2001: November Kicks Again 7″ vinyl, Beclamed Records

2003: This Time, Each Year, Pause Music

2004: This Time, Each Year (USA), Hybrid Electric Records

2005: Static Patterns and Souvenirs, Words On Music

2008: Writing Down Things To Say, Words On Music

2010: The Ghosts of Winter EP, Digital release

2012: The Snowlights EP, Digital release

2013: Heart of Wire, Words On Music

2013: As She Goes By, Words On Music


Photography (c) John Smalley/Vapour Trail


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>